“FREE TACOS!”

FREE TACOS!  Most everyone loves tacos and free is even better!  My oldest daughter Gracie came up to me with a coupon for a ‘FREE TACO’ at a Mexican fast food restaurant.  “Dad, can we go get my FREE TACO soon!  It’s free Dad you don’t have to pay anything!  They are just going to give me a FREE TACO!”  “Ok ok ok slow down yes we can get your FREE TACO!”  How can I let my kiddo down by not getting this FREE TACO?  “We will go soon!” I promised.

Then I started to think about this ‘FREE TACO’.  I said “Hey Gracie, when have you ever paid for a taco?  Aren’t all tacos free to you?”  (My daughter is only 11 so I guess I won’t make her get a job yet to pay for her food.)  She thought about it for a second and said “Oh ya right, well but Dad this one is free for you!”  She had a point; this would be one taco out of how many that I would not have to pay for.  I’m not going to make her pay for the drink or extra tacos when we go either.  She will have no debt owed to me yet she cannot pay but must eat to survive.

Ephesians 2:8For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God’  My daughters have faith in me that I will provide food for them, just as we have faith in Jesus giving us eternal life.  There is no way we as Christians can ever repay God for sending his son to die on the Cross for our sins yet we can have salvation for free.  FREE SALVATION?  Wait, there has to be a catch?  Nothing in this world is free, I’m sure you have all heard.  True, nothing in this world is free not even salvation.

In order to receive the FREE TACO I must physically go to the restaurant and place my order for the taco and hand them the coupon.  Easy enough, right?  So, just because Jesus died on the Cross for our sins doesn’t mean we have FREE SALVATION.  There are steps to take to acquire the salvation from Jesus Christ.  In Acts 16:31 it states ‘Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved…’  So, there we have the Salvation from God.  Then to complete this transaction for the FREE SALVATION let’s turn to Mark 1:4-5John the Baptist appeared in the wilderness preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. And all the country of Judea was going out to him, and all the people of Jerusalem; and they were being baptized by him in the Jordan River, confessing their sins.’  You must ask for forgiveness and then be baptized.

I can’t just go ask for a FREE TACO and get a FREE TACO, like I said there are steps that must be made.  Just as in asking for FREE SALVATION there will be steps to take.  On a closing note I say that you will always be physically hungry and thirsty and as a Christian we should be the same for God’s holy word.  Be hungry for what God has written in the Books of the Bible and thirst to know and understand all you can.  1 Thessalonians 5:16-1816 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.   Makes me feel good to read that verse!

11.14.2016

Leave a Reply

