“Be Thankful…for flat tires.”

By: John Thomas Heiligenthal

Is it really November already?  The month we celebrate Thanksgiving in America.  A time to be thankful for all that we have and the abundance of food that will be at most of our tables.  Sitting around a big turkey with family, friends and loved ones eating till we are stuffed!  Then comes desserts, pumpkin pies, pecan pies and some Jell-O dessert the neighbors brought over and you better take a “No Thank You” bite if you know what’s good for you!

1 Thessalonians 5:18in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.’  Oh, I have this one covered!  God, I am thankful for this amazing Thanksgiving feast and these dinner rolls are pure heaven with a little bit of butter!  What’s that?  Give thanks for EVERYTHING?  But, I’m not going to give thanks for the flat tire I just had a week ago.  And the tire shop bill that was 100 bucks!  I’m not thankful for that at all.  In everything God are you sure?

A few Friday’s back now I was scheduled to drive my first grader over to the San Diego Zoo for her class field trip.  Early that morning she woke up and was sick, twice in an hour.  We would not be seeing any lions, tigers or bears this day!  Was I “thankful” she was sick?  Not at all!  I wanted to go to the zoo as much as she did and see God’s creatures.  But I stayed in bed with her giving her a little bit of water some juice and a few crackers till she felt better (the next day).  But what happened that night driving home from the store with her…she heard a loud hissing sound, “Dad, what’s that sound?”  I knew it had to be a tire.  Sure enough as we rolled up to the house a tire was going flat.  Good thing we were at the house when this happened, makes changing the spare so much easier.  Wait! Was I just thankful for a flat tire?  Well, not the flat but being at home to change it.

At the time of the flat my daughter and I would have been coming back home from the zoo through the mountains leaving California.  A place I would not want to change a flat tire much less traveling 65 mph on a highway, who knows what could have happened.  Now was I thankful for a sick kid and getting a flat in my driveway?  You bet I was!  Too often we have our own agenda as to what WE are going to do in a day.  We do not put our trust in God as we should.  Proverbs 3:5-6 ‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.’  God has a plan for each of us and he outlines it all in the Bible, but we first have to put our trust only in HIM and to stop relying on ourselves first.

11.2.2016

Leave a Reply

